Gorillaz Return With New Track "Stylo"

The world's greatest virtual band, Gorillaz, have announced a new release titled Plastic Beaches that is set to drop on March 9.  It will be the first Gorillaz album in five years.

The group, which was created by Damon Albarn of Blur and comic book artist Jamie Hewlett, has collaborated with celebrated mash-up artist DJ Danger Mouse of Gnarls Barkley fame and landed 17 Track's No. 57 song of the decade with "Feel Good Inc."

In a recent interview with Q magazine, Albarn explained where the whole Gorillaz concept was at more than a decade after it was created.

"Gorillaz now to us is not like four animated characters any more - it's more like an organisation of people doing new projects. [...] That's my ideal model - Gorillaz is a group of people who gave you this, and now want to give you new stuff," he said.

The group of people involved in the album's first single is Mos Def and Bobby Womak who are featured on the slow burning 80s synth of "Stylo".  You can hear the track here.

Gorillaz are slated to perform at this year's Coachella Festival along with Thom Yorke, Jay-Z, and Muse.


Post a Comment